Monday, August 1, 2016

News of Award Recipients in Business History

Several organization have recently announced the recipients of business history-related prizes and fellowships:

The Editorial Advisory Board of the Business History Review has announced that the winner of the 2015 Henrietta Larson Article Award is Christina Lubinski, for “Global Trade and Indian Politics: The German Dye Business in India before 1947.” The article, published in the autumn 2015 issue of the BHR, is currently free to download from Cambridge University Press Journals.

Brian Phillips Murphy of CUNY has won the SHEAR 2016 James Broussard Best First Book Prize for Building the Empire State: Political Economy in the Early Republic (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2015).

Sean Bottomley (Université de Toulouse Capitol) has been awarded the 2016 Economic History Society Prize for the best first monograph in economic and/or social history for The British Patent System during the Industrial Revolution, 1700-1852 (Cambridge University Press, 2014).

The Mahoney Prize, awarded by the Special Interest Group in Computers, Information, and Society (SIGCIS) of the Society for the History of Technology, was presented in 2016 to Andrew L. Russell (SUNY Polytechnic Institute) and Valérie Schafer (Institut des sciences de la communication, CNRS), "In the Shadow of ARPANET and Internet: Louis Pouzin and the Cyclades Network in the 1970s," Technology and Culture 55, no. 4 (October 2014): 880-907.  

Jeannette Estruth of New York University has been selected as the 2017 Miller Center/ Hagley Library Dissertation Fellow in Business and Politics.

Christy Chapin has been named a 2016-2017 Kluge Fellow; she will be working on a book project entitled "The U.S. Economy and the Emergence of Financial Capitalism."

And, as previously mentioned in "Over the Counter," the Canadian Historical Association recently announced its prize winners for 2016; included are Alexia Yates, who won the Ferguson Prize for Selling Paris: Property and Commercial Culture in the Fin-de-siècle Capital (Harvard University Press, 2015), and Robert MacDougall, who won the Albert B. Corey Prize for The People's Network:  The Political Economy of the Telephone in the Gilded Age (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2015).