Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Rovensky Fellowship 2011-2012 Winners Announced

Committee chair William J. Hausman has announced that John E. Rovensky Fellowships have been awarded to Cory Davis, a graduate student in the Department of History, University of Illinois, Chicago, and Gregory Niemesh, a graduate student in the Department of Economics, Vanderbilt University. The topic of Davis's dissertation is "A Commercial Republic: The National Board of Trade and Political Economy in the Late Nineteenth-Century United States." Niemesh is working on "The Economic and Health Benefits of Food Fortification in the United States."
   Rovensky Fellows must be working toward a Ph.D. degree with American business or economic history as the area of major interest and must be enrolled in a doctoral program at an accredited college or university in the United States. The Fellowship provides a cash award of $10,000.
   Other committee members are Steven Usselman (Georgia Tech), Pamela Walker Laird (Colorado-Denver), Margaret Levenstein (University of Michigan), Mary O'Sullivan (University of Geneva), Mary Yeager (UCLA), and Marc Weidenmier (Claremont McKenna). These fellowships arise from a substantial gift which Mr. Rovensky made to the Lincoln Educational Foundation in 1961; the monies and the Fellowship program are now administered by the University of Illinois Foundation.