Skip to main content

BHC 2011 Prizes Announced

Following is a complete list of prizes and awards announced at the recent BHC meeting in St. Louis:

Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is bestowed every two years to a scholar who has contributed significantly to the work of the Business History Conference and to scholarship in business history.
   To Richard Sylla, Stern School of Business, New York University

Hagley Prize. The prize is awarded jointly by the Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference to the best book in business history (broadly defined) written in English and published during the two years prior to the award.
   To Susan Ingalls Lewis (State University of New York at New Paltz),Unexceptional Women: Female Proprietors in Mid-Nineteenth-Century Albany, New York, 1830-1885 (Ohio State University Press, 2009)

Ralph Gomory Book Prize. This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate.
   To Richard R. John (Columbia University), Network Nation: Inventing American Telecommunications (Harvard University Press, 2010).
   Honorable Mention: James R. Fichter (Lingnan University), So Great a Proffit: How the East Indies Trade Transformed Anglo-American Capitalism (Harvard University Press, 2010)

Oxford Journals Article Prize. This prize recognizes the author of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the best of those that have appeared in volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.
   To Oskar Broberg (Gothenberg University), “Labeling the Good: Alternative Visions and Organic Branding in Sweden in the Late Twentieth Century," Enterprise & Society 11 (Dec. 2010): 811-838.

Mira Wilkins Prize. This prize, established in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best article published annually in Enterprise & Society pertaining to international and comparative business history.
   To Marcelo Bucheli (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), “Multinational Corporations, Business Groups, and Economic Nationalism: Standard Oil (New Jersey), Royal Dutch-Shell, and Energy Politics in Chile 1913–2005,” Enterprise & Society 11 (June 2010): 350-399

Herman E. Krooss Prize. The prize recognizes the best dissertation in business history written in English and completed in the three calendar years immediately prior to the annual meeting.
   To Dan Bouk (Colgate University), “The Science of Difference: Developing Tools for Discrimination in the American Life Insurance Industry, 1830-1930,”(Princeton University, 2009)

K. Austin Kerr Prize. The prize recognizes the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference by a new scholar (doctoral student or those within three years of receiving their Ph.D). It honors K. Austin Kerr, longtime professor of history at the Ohio State University and former president of the Business History Conference.
   To Di Yin Lu (Harvard University), “Shanghai's Art Dealers and the International Market for Chinese Art, 1922-1949”
   Honorable Mention: Kelly Arehart (College of William and Mary), “ 'To Put a Mass of Putrefying Animal Matter into a Fine Plush Casket': The Development of Professional Knowledge among Morticians, 1880-1920”
   Honorable Mention: Johan Mathew (Harvard University), “Controlling Currency and Smuggling Specie in the Arabian Sea, 1873-1966”

The CEBC Halloran Prize in the History of Corporate Responsibility. The prize recognizes a paper presented at the BHC annual meeting that makes a significant contribution to the history of corporate responsibility. It is funded by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures (CEBC) at the University of St. Thomas Opus College of Business in honor of Harry R. Halloran, Jr.
   To Ann-Kristin Bergquist Umeå University)and Kristina Söderholm (Luleå University of Technology), “The Making of a Green Innovation System: The Swedish Institute for Water and Air Protection and the Swedish Pulp and Paper Industry in the mid-1960s to the 1980s”

For more information about these prizes, go to or contact Roger Horowitz, BHC Secretary-Treasurer,

Popular posts from this blog

Call for Papers: #BHC2022MexicoCity

Business History in Times of Disruption: Embracing Complexity and Diversity Annual Meeting of the Business History Conference Sheraton Mexico City María Isabel Hotel Ciudad de México, México April 7-9, 2022 [ bookmark the CFP ] The Covid-19 crisis arrived with little warning, disrupting global business and trade. Industries as different as tourism, retail, and manufacturing were plunged into disarray by travel restrictions, broken supply chains, and quarantines. The pandemic also underscored the growing dangers posed by economic inequality and environmental degradation, hinting at a more tumultuous future. We have, it seems, entered into a new age of uncertainty. Informed by these developments, the 2022 Business History Conference will explore the diverse ways that entrepreneurs, firms, and organizations coped with complexity, uncertainty, and disruption over the long run. The Program Committee welcomes individual papers and session proposals that explore this theme. Submissions can a

Call for Submissions: Business History Collective and the webinar series

Call for Submissions: Business History Collective and the webinar series The network aims to promote scholarship in the fields of business history, management history, organizational history, corporate history, and other related fields. The network will launch the Spring 2021 webinar series to provide a space for the presentation and discussion of works in progress, dissertation chapters, or R&R manuscripts. The webinars are open to scholars primarily from a qualitative perspective, willing to engage in productive conversations by providing supportive and constructive comments to peers. We are currently looking for presenters and attendees to get things moving forward. We especially welcome submissions from graduate students and early-career researchers. We strongly encourage women, people of color, members of minority groups, scholars based in or working on under-represented geographies (such as Latin America, the Mediterranean Basin, the Middle East, Africa, and Asia), and schola

AHA Virtual Seminar: Business History Today

Virtual AHA Seminar: Business History Today April 13th, 2021 2 pm  Colloquium--An assessment of the doing of business history at the beginning of the 21st century, sketching new trends and themes. Chair:  Philip B. Scranton , Rutgers University-Camden Presenters: Business History, Theory, and Globalization by Kenneth J. Lipartito , Florida International University Rethinking Chinese Economic Life and Business History by Philip Thai , Northeastern University Economic Life and the Margins of Business History by Alexia Yates , University of Manchester Histories of Business in Africa: Lessons from Ghana by Bianca Murillo , California State University, Dominguez Hills