Thursday, July 2, 2015

BHC Prize Recipients Announced

At the Business History Conference Annual Meeting on June 24-28, 2015, in Miami, Florida, officers announced the following recipients of BHC prizes and grants:

Lifetime Achievement Award
The award is bestowed every two years to a scholar who has contributed significantly to the work of the Business History Conference and to scholarship in business history.
2015 recipient: Juliet E. K. Walker, University of Texas at Austin 
Hagley Prize 
The prize is awarded jointly by the Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference to the best book in business history (broadly defined) written in English and published during the two years prior to the award.
2015 recipient: Walter Friedman, Fortune Tellers: The Story of America's First Economic Forecasters (Princeton University Press, 2013). Affiliation: Harvard Business School 
Ralph Gomory Prize 
This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate. Prizes are awarded to a book or books published during the two years prior to the award.
2015 recipients: Emily Erikson, Between Monopoly and Free Trade: The English East India Company, 1600-1757 (Princeton University Press, 2014). Affiliation: Yale University
Kathryn Steen, The American Synthetic Organic Chemicals Industry: War and Politics 1910-1930 (University of North Carolina Press, 2014). Affiliation: Drexel University
Herman E. Krooss Prize 
The prize recognizes the best dissertation in business history written in English and completed in the three calendar years immediately prior to the annual meeting.
2015 recipient: David Singerman, "Inventing Purity in the Atlantic Sugar World, 1860-1930" (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2014). Affiliation: Rutgers University
Philip Scranton Best Article Prize 
This prize recognizes the author or authors of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the best of those that have appeared in the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting. It is named in recognition of Philip Scranton’s deep contributions to Enterprise & Society and is generously funded by Cambridge University Press.
2015 recipients: Marc Flandreau and Gabriel Geisler Mesevage, “The untold history of transparency: mercantile agencies, the law, and the lawyers (1851-1916)” Enterprise & Society 15: 2 (June 2014), 213-51. Affiliation (both): Institut De Hautes Études Internationales Et Du Développement, Geneva. 
Mira Wilkins Prize
This prize, established in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best Enterprise & Society article pertaining to international and comparative business history published the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.
2015 recipient: Paula de la Cruz Fernández, “Marketing the Hearth: Ornamental Embroidery and the Building of the Multinational Singer Sewing Machine Company,” Enterprise and Society 15, 3 (September 2014), 442-71. Affiliation: Florida International University 
K. Austin Kerr Prize 
The prize recognizes the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference by a new scholar (doctoral student or those within three years of receiving their Ph.D). It honors K. Austin Kerr, longtime professor of history at the Ohio State University and former president of the Business History Conference.
2015 recipients: Paige Glotzer, “National Standards, Local Sales: The Professional Culture of Real Estate and the Creation of an Exclusionary Housing Market.” Affiliation: Johns Hopkins University
Joseph Slaughter, “Christian Business Enterprise Reform: The Pioneer Line, 1828-1831.” Affiliation: University of Maryland, College Park 
The Halloran Prize in the History of Corporate Responsibility 
The prize recognizes a paper presented at the BHC annual meeting that makes a significant contribution to the history of corporate responsibility. It is funded by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures (CEBC) at the University of St.Thomas Opus College of Business in honor of Harry R. Halloran, Jr.
2015 recipient: Owen James Hyman, “Why a West Coast Paper Company Went South: Corporate Expansion and Civil Rights in the Deep South.” Affiliation: Mississippi State University 
For more information about these prizes, go to or contact BHC secretary-treasurer Roger Horowitz,