Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Awards for Research in Postal History from the USPS

In the wake of our recent post on a GIS visualization of US Post Office expansion comes word of the Rita Lloyd Moroney Awards for Scholarship in Postal History from the US Postal Service. The USPS sponsors two annual prizes for scholarship on the history of the American postal system: scholarship by junior scholars (undergraduates and graduate students) is eligible for a $1,000 award; scholarship by senior scholars (faculty members, independent scholars, and public historians) is eligible for a $2,000 award.
  The awards honor Rita Lloyd Moroney, who began conducting historical research for the Postmaster General in 1962 and then served as Historian of the U.S. Postal Service from 1973 to 1991. These prizes are designed to encourage scholarship on the history of the American postal system and to raise awareness about the significance of the postal system in American life.
  The prizes are intended for scholarship on any topic on the history of the American postal system from the colonial era to the present—including the history of the imperial postal system that preceded the establishment of the American postal system in 1775. Though submissions must be historical in character, they can draw on the methods of disciplines other than history—e.g., geography, cultural studies, literature, communications, or economics. Comparative or international historical studies are eligible if the American postal system is central to the discussion.
   Submissions for the 2012 prize must be postmarked by December 1, 2011. Authors must submit three copies of each submission along with a cover letter in which the author attests that the submission meets the eligibility requirements. Send all materials to:
Professor Richard Kielbowicz
Department of Communication
Box 353740
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Please direct all questions to Professor Kielbowicz at the above address or to For a full explanation of award procedures, please see the USPS Moroney Awards page.
   The 2010 junior winner was Joseph M. Adelman, for "‘A Constitutional Conveyance of Intelligence, Public and Private’: The Post Office, the Business of Printing, and the American Revolution," published in Enterprise & Society 11 (December 2010): 709-52.