New Initiative: Financial History Network (@financialhist)

[From the Financial History Network (@financialhist)]

Dear colleagues,

We want to inform you about the launch of the Financial History Network (@financialhist) and its webinar series. The network aims to promote scholarship in the fields of financial history and the history of finance, broadly defined. The network will launch a webinar series in September 2020 to provide a space for the presentation and discussion of works in progress, dissertation chapters, or R&R manuscripts. The webinars are open to scholars primarily from a qualitative perspective, willing to engage in productive conversations by providing supportive and constructive comments to peers. 

We are currently looking for presenters and attendees to get things moving forward. We especially welcome submissions from graduate students and early-career researchers. We strongly encourage women, people of color, members of minority groups, scholars based in or working on under-represented geographies (such as Latin America, the Mediterranean Basin, the Middle East, Africa, and Asia), and scholars from disciplines other than economics and history to participate in the webinar series. 

We are aware there are alternative outlets like the Bonn Macrohistory Seminars, the YSI Economic History Graduate Webinars, and the Virtual Economic History Seminars. We aim to complement these initiatives by giving prominence to works that employ a more qualitative or institutional perspective in the fields of financial, banking, monetary, and accounting history, the history and sociology of finance, and the history of capitalism. We are also open to other approaches.

If you are interested in taking part in this initiative, please fill in the form here. You will be able to choose whether you want to join as a presenter, a discussant, as a member of the audience, or to help organize future webinars.

The webinar sessions will take place once a month starting in September 2020 on Mondays, at 5 pm Frankfurt / 4 pm London / 12 pm Sao Paulo / 11 am New York / 10 am Mexico City.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Bernardo Bátiz-Lazo (Northumbria University (Newcastle), United Kingdom)

Manuel Bautista-González (Columbia University in the City of New York, United States)

Sergio Castellanos-Gamboa (Prifysgol Bangor University, United Kingdom)

Paula Vedoveli (Fundação Getulio Vargas, Brazil)


Financial History Network

Website / Twitter / Email

Join the network here