Wednesday, August 13, 2014

OAH Speakers' Series Features History of Capitalism

Created in 1981, the OAH Distinguished Lectureship Program is a speakers bureau dedicated to American history. According to the Organization of American Historians website, "OAH Distinguished Lecturers speak around the country every year, not only visiting college campuses and addressing undergraduate and graduate student conferences but also leading teacher seminars and engaging general audiences at public events sponsored by historical societies, museums, libraries, and humanities councils." Among the many topics covered by the series is "The History of Capitalism," which encompasses over 30 speakers on various facets of the subject. Participating scholars include Sven Beckert, Peter Coclanis, Ellen Hartigan-O'Connor, Louis Hyman, Bethany Moreton, Julia Ott, Kim Phillips-Fein, Scott Sandage, and Jennifer Scanlon, to name only a few. Most speakers offer a selection of lectures.
    OAH Distinguished Lecturers are appointed by the OAH president-elect. Each agrees to present one lecture on behalf of the organization each academic year and to donate his or her lecture fee to the organization. The OAH has a YouTube channel where videos of several lectures can be found.
    For more information about the Distinguished Lectureship Program, please see the OAH website.