Monday, April 1, 2013

BHC Announces Award Winners at 2013 Meeting

At the Business History Conference annual meeting in Columbus, Ohio, held on March 21-23, 2013, officers announced the following recipients of BHC prizes and grants.

Lifetime Achievement Award
The award is bestowed every two years to a scholar who has contributed significantly to the work of the Business History Conference and to scholarship in business history.

2013 recipient: Mansel Blackford (The Ohio State University)

Hagley Prize
The prize is awarded jointly by the Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference to the best book in business history (broadly defined) written in English and published during the two years prior to the award.
2013 recipient: Michael B. Miller (University of Miami)
Europe and the Maritime World: A Twentieth-Century History (Cambridge University Press, 2012).
Ralph Gomory Prize
This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate. Prizes are awarded to a book and an article written in English and published during the two years prior to the award.
2013 book recipient: Mark Freeman, University of Glasgow, Robin Pearson, University of Hull, and James Taylor, University of Lancaster
Shareholder Democracies? Corporate Governance in Britain and Ireland before 1850 (University of Chicago Press, 2012).

2013 honorable mention: Jennifer L. Anderson,(SUNY-Stony Brook)
Mahogany: The Costs of Luxury in Early America (Harvard University Press, 2012).

2013 article recipient: Gerben Bakker, (London School of Economics)
“Trading Facts: Arrow’s Fundamental Paradox and the Origins of Global News Networks,” in International Communication and Global News Networks: Historical Perspectives, ed. Peter Putnis, Chandrika Kaul, and Jurgen Wilke (Hampton Press/International Association of Media and Communications Research, 2011).
Herman E. Krooss Prize
The prize recognizes the best dissertation in business history written in English and completed in the three calendar years immediately prior to the annual meeting.
2013 recipient: Caitlin Rosenthal (Harvard Business School)
"From Memory to Mastery: Accounting for Control in America, 1740-1880"(Harvard University, 2012).
Oxford Journals Article Prize
This prize recognizes the author of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the best of those that have appeared in the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.
2013 recipient: Geoffrey Jones (Harvard Business School) and Christina Lubinski (German Historical Institute)
“Managing Political Risk in Global Business: Beiersdorf 1914–1990.” Enterprise & Society 13 (1), 2012.
Mira Wilkins Prize
This prize, established in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best Enterprise & Society article pertaining to international and comparative business history published the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.
2013 recipient: Tore C. Olsson (University of Georgia),
“Peeling Back the Layers: Vidalia Onions and the Making of a Global Agribusiness, Enterprise & Society 13 (4), 2012.
K. Austin Kerr Prize 
The prize recognizes the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference by a new scholar (doctoral student or those within three years of receiving their Ph.D). It honors K. Austin Kerr, longtime professor of history at the Ohio State University and former president of the Business History Conference.
2013 recipient:  Anne Fleming (Harvard Law School)
“The ‘very fibre of personal finance’: Changing Beliefs about Regulation and the Small-Sum Lending Industry in New York, 1900-1940”

2013 honorable mention: Joshua Specht (Harvard University)
“Hard Winters, International Capital, and the Rise and Fall of the Land and Cattle Company in the United States”
The CEBC Halloran Prize in the History of Corporate Responsibility 
The prize recognizes a paper presented at the BHC annual meeting that makes a significant contribution to the history of corporate responsibility. It is funded by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures (CEBC) at the University of St.Thomas Opus College of Business in honor of Harry R. Halloran, Jr.
2013 recipient: Stephanie Amerian (Irvine Valley College)
“ ‘A store is a citizen’: Civic Culture and Consumer Culture at Lord & Taylor Department Store, 1945-1959”
For more information about these prizes and links to lists of recipients, please see the BHC awards web pages or contact Roger Horowitz, BHC Secretary-Treasurer, at