Skip to main content

BHC 2020 Prize Winners [updated]

Dear Subscribers to The Exchange:

The 2020 Business History Conference prize winners were announced at the Charlotte meeting banquet on Saturday, March 15th:

Harold Williamson Prize

The award is bestowed every two years to a mid-career scholar or scholars who has or have
made significant contributions to the field of business history.

2020 recipients
Sharon Ann Murphy, Providence College
Daniel Wadhwani, University of the Pacific

Hagley Prize

The prize is awarded jointly by the Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History
Conference to the best book in business history (broadly defined).

2020 recipient
Ai Hisano (Kyoto University)
for the book Visualizing Taste:  How Business Changed the Look of What You Eat (Harvard
University Press)

2020 finalists

Amanda Ciafone (University of Illinois, Urbana) Counter-Cola: A Multinational History of the Global Corporation
(University of California Press)

Shennette Garrett-Scott (The University of Mississipi) Banking on Freedom: Black Women in U.S. Finance Before the
New Deal (Columbia University Press)

Ai Hisano (Kioto University) Visualizing Taste: How Business Changed the Look of What You Eat (Harvard University Press)

Sarah Milov (University of Virginia) The Cigarette: A Political History (Harvard University Press)

David K. Johnson (University of South Florida), Buying Gay: How Physique Entrepreneurs Sparked a Movement (Columbia University Press)

Andrew Konove (The University of Texas, San Antonio) Black Market Capital: Urban Politics and the Shadow Economy in Mexico City (University of California Press)

Jorun Poettering (Harvard University) Migrating Merchants: Trade, Nation, and Religion in Seventeenth-Century Hamburg and Portugal (De Gruyter)

Mark Rose (Florida Atlantic University) Market Rules: Bankers, Presidents, and the Origins of the Great Recession (University of Pennsylvania Press)

Heidi Tworek (University of British Columbia) News from Germany: The Competition to Control World Communications, 1900-1945 (Harvard University Press)

JoAnn Yates (MIT Sloan School of Management) and Craig Murphy (Wellesley College) Engineering Rules: Global Standard Setting since 1880 (Johns Hopkins University Press)

Ralph Gomory Prize

This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the
effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate.

2020 recipient
Heidi Tworek (University of British Columbia)
for the book News from Germany: The Competition to Control World Communications, 1900-
1945 (Harvard University Press)

2020 honorable mention
Herbert S. Klein (Columbia University) and Francisco Vidal Luna (University of São Paulo) for the book Feeding the World: Brazil's Transformation into a Modern Agricultural Economy (Cambridge University Press)

Herman E. Krooss Prize

The prize recognizes the best dissertation in business history written in English and completed in
the three calendar years immediately prior to the annual meeting.

2020 recipient
Jessica Ann Levy (Ph.D. History, Johns Hopkins University)
for the dissertation “Black Power, Inc: Global American Business and the Post-Apartheid City”

Philip Scranton Best Article Prize

This prize recognizes the author of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the
best of those that have appeared in the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.

2020 recipient
Hoi-Eun Kim (Texas A & M)
for the article “Adulterated Intermediaries: Peddlers, Pharmacists, and the Patent Medicine
Industry in Colonial Korea (1910-1945)” Enterprise and Society 20, 4 (December 2019), 939-

Mira Wilkins Prize

This prize, established in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is
awarded to the author of the best Enterprise & Society article pertaining to international and
comparative business history published the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual
2020 recipient
Nikolas Glover (Uppsala Centre for Business History)
for the article “Between Order and Justice: Investments in Africa and Corporate International
Responsibility in Swedish Media in the 1960s,” Enterprise and Society 20, 2 (June 2019), 401-

K. Austin Kerr Prize

The prize recognizes the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History
Conference by a new scholar (doctoral student or those within three years of receiving their
Ph.D.) It honors K. Austin Kerr, longtime professor of history at the Ohio State University and
former president of the Business History Conference.

No 2020 prize awarded due to COVID19/Coronavirus circumstances

Martha Moore Trescott Prize

The Martha Moore Trescott Prize recognizes the best paper at the intersection of business history
and the history of technology presented at the annual meeting of the Business History
2020 recipient
Owen James Hyman (University of Mississippi)
for the paper “Collaboration and Dispossession: The Creation of NASA’s Space Technology Laboratory”

Popular posts from this blog

Call for Papers: #BHC2022MexicoCity

Business History in Times of Disruption: Embracing Complexity and Diversity Annual Meeting of the Business History Conference Sheraton Mexico City María Isabel Hotel Ciudad de México, México April 7-9, 2022 [ bookmark the CFP ] The Covid-19 crisis arrived with little warning, disrupting global business and trade. Industries as different as tourism, retail, and manufacturing were plunged into disarray by travel restrictions, broken supply chains, and quarantines. The pandemic also underscored the growing dangers posed by economic inequality and environmental degradation, hinting at a more tumultuous future. We have, it seems, entered into a new age of uncertainty. Informed by these developments, the 2022 Business History Conference will explore the diverse ways that entrepreneurs, firms, and organizations coped with complexity, uncertainty, and disruption over the long run. The Program Committee welcomes individual papers and session proposals that explore this theme. Submissions can a

Call for Submissions: Business History Collective and the webinar series

Call for Submissions: Business History Collective and the webinar series The network aims to promote scholarship in the fields of business history, management history, organizational history, corporate history, and other related fields. The network will launch the Spring 2021 webinar series to provide a space for the presentation and discussion of works in progress, dissertation chapters, or R&R manuscripts. The webinars are open to scholars primarily from a qualitative perspective, willing to engage in productive conversations by providing supportive and constructive comments to peers. We are currently looking for presenters and attendees to get things moving forward. We especially welcome submissions from graduate students and early-career researchers. We strongly encourage women, people of color, members of minority groups, scholars based in or working on under-represented geographies (such as Latin America, the Mediterranean Basin, the Middle East, Africa, and Asia), and schola

AHA Virtual Seminar: Business History Today

Virtual AHA Seminar: Business History Today April 13th, 2021 2 pm  Colloquium--An assessment of the doing of business history at the beginning of the 21st century, sketching new trends and themes. Chair:  Philip B. Scranton , Rutgers University-Camden Presenters: Business History, Theory, and Globalization by Kenneth J. Lipartito , Florida International University Rethinking Chinese Economic Life and Business History by Philip Thai , Northeastern University Economic Life and the Margins of Business History by Alexia Yates , University of Manchester Histories of Business in Africa: Lessons from Ghana by Bianca Murillo , California State University, Dominguez Hills